Dismiss Notice
It can take 24-48 hours for the hosting/Teamspeak applications to be reviewed. Opening a thread before 48 hours, asking about the application timeline will result in your account and application being deleted permanently.

Before signing up for an account, please see our Forbidden Countries List (https://www.instafree.com/forbidden_countries.php). If you are on that list, please do not attempt to sign up, as you will not be given a hosting account. Using a proxy to circumvent that list is a violation of our TOS and will result in immediate deletion of your account.

Confusion with WordPress vs SitePad vs Softaculous

Discussion in 'Free Shared Hosting' started by JimG, Mar 18, 2019.

1. JimG

JimG Hosting Client

As introduction, I am an experienced software developer and am capable of writing html using a text editor. I am also a trained Unix/Linux system administrator. My personal website was originally created using 1&1 IONOS' provided website builder (I thought it was home-grown). I created an account here and am moving my email and website to InstaFree. I, very much, want to use a website design tool to re-create my personal website.

Initially, I tried to install WordPress and copy my website over. This may have created untold problems. While doing this I was also migrating my domain to a new registrar (I don't recommend this to anyone).

Some information I see on the cPanel is confusing. I have installed/uninstalled WordPress a couple of times. Every time I log into cPanel and go to WordPress the 'Install' button is still active which makes me think the installation did not take.

upload_2019-3-17_21-47-16.png

The top of the screen says Softaculous and when I click 'SitePad Website Builder' I'm taken to

upload_2019-3-17_21-49-36.png